Food Friday – Best Brunch Dish Ever!

I make this dish for our mom’s group at least once a year.  We always serve a brunch at our bi-monthly meetings.  I got the recipe from my friend Marge who made this for several youth group fundraising breakfasts back when I was a youth director.  She also made it for my baby shower when my oldest was born.

You need to plan ahead as it has to refrigerate overnight and it takes about one hour to bake.

Marge’s Brunch Casserole

What you need:

  • 8 slices of bread, cubed (I usually use white bread)
  • 1 stick of margarine, melted (I don’t like it quite so buttery so I actually started using about 3/4 of a stick)
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground mustard
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup sharp chedddar cheese (I sometimes do 1/2 cup cheddar, 1/2 cup monterey jack–whatever have in the house)
  • 2 cups diced ham (or you can use cooked sausage, cooked bacon or a combination of all three)
  • 4 oz mushrooms (optional)
  • 1/4 cup sliced green pepper (optional)

Line a greased 9 x 13 pan with bread cubes.  Beat milk, butter, salt, mustard, and eggs until fluffy.  Add cheese, ham, mushrooms, and green pepper.  Pour over the bread cubes.  Cover with foil and refrigerate overnight.  Bake at 325 degrees for one hour.

One thought on “Food Friday – Best Brunch Dish Ever!

Leave a Reply

