Navigating through transitions

I was having lunch with a friend who had recently moved to the area.  We were discussing all the “hassles” of moving—unpacking, setting up a new bank account, finding a doctor and dentist etc.  She said, “I don’t do well with all this change.”  Then I thought, “Does anyone?  Is there anyone out there who welcomes change with open arms?”

Transitions are difficult.  Look at how our children respond to them.  Do the highlights of parenting include potty training or moving a toddler from a crib to a bed?  I have not met any mom who gets overly excited about these transitions.  We press forward and get through them…and celebrate the successes.

We moved across the country five years ago. Except for the first four years of my life, I always lived in the Midwest.  Moving to Oregon with my husband and eleven month old daughter was a big change.  I knew God had called us to the Pacific Northwest and I was excited about our new life.  “Finally,” I thought, “we will have a home and we won’t be moving so often.”  More stability.  Less change.

However, in the five years we have lived here we have said “hello” and “good-bye” to many people—families like ourselves moving for jobs, children, or a desire to be closer to extended family.

I complained to my husband how hard it is to get close to people with all the coming and going.  He reminded me that change is inevitable.  People leave, but there are always people who come. Instead of fighting change or remembering “how it used to be” or wishing “if only it were this way” we need to accept the fact that God wants us to live for today.  I am reminded of Matthew 5:33 & 34 “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Not every year is going to be easy.  There will be times of loneliness.  There may be places we’ve lived before that suited us better. There will always be friends we miss. Yet there are people in our lives today we can embrace.

There is no magic solution for enduring change. We all have different needs and personalities.  Just like some five year olds are excited for kindergarten while others are fearful to walk into that classroom on that first day, we all respond to change differently.  The one thing we all need to do is rely on God to navigate our lives.  We should take each day as it comes.  After all each day is a gift from Him.

6 thoughts on “Navigating through transitions

  1. I hate change, too, to the point that I’m likely to pout if my plans for the day change. (That’s something I’m working on.) But you’re right that changes are inevitable, and we need to live for today not dwell in the past or live in the future.

  2. We also made a cross country move to Oregon. Wow. It was an adjustment to say the least. I had my fair share of all of the emotions you wrote so beautifully in this post. I have been working really hard to find that peace in my heart – the peace that makes me believe that we are exactly where we are supposed to be. I still have many moments where I feel sad or wonder “what if” or “is it better in…” but all in all we have found lots of happiness here in Oregon. Thanks for the beautiful post. I’ll be printing this one off.

    • I love the name of your blog! And we love Oregon!! There are many, many things we miss about Michigan, but we’re grateful for our home here and the people God has put in our lives. We’ve met so many people like us that ventured from far away places to come to Oregon.

Leave a Reply

