Books I Read in 2013

Update:  I actually read 35 books.  Totally forgot about Turning Stones:  My Days And Nights With Children At Risk–A Caseworker’s Story by Marc Parent.  This is a must read for anyone thinking about foster parenting or understanding the difficulties (and burn out) of being a caseworker.  

I did not read more books than the husband this year.  If you count children’s books, I would have won by a landslide.  However, we don’t count kid books.  I did manage to hit 34 books this year which is an all time record.  This is my list:

Non Fiction:

1) Triumph by Carolyn Jessop

2) Little Girls in Pretty Boxes by Joan Ryan

3) Orphans of the Living by Jennifer Toth

4) Practical Tools for Foster Parents by Various Authors

5) Radical by David Platt

6) The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

7) Three Little Words by Ashley Rhodes-Courter

8) The Foster Parent Toolbox edited by Kim Phagel-Hansel

9) Bringing Elizabeth Home by Ed Smart and Lois Smart

10) Bowerman and the Men of Oregon by Kenny Moore

11) Pre:  The Story of America’s Greatest Running Legend by Tom Jordan

12) Live Through This by Debra Gwartney

13) Seven: An Experimental Mutiny by Jen Hatmaker

14)  Lucky Girl by Mel- Ling Hopgood

15)  Through Painted Deserts by Donald Miller

16) How We Got Here: The 70’s by David Frum

17) The Things They Carried by Tim O ‘Brien

18) Waiting For An Army To Die by Fred A Wilcox

19)  Quiet:  The Power of Introverts In  A World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain

20) An Innocent A Broad by Ann Leary

21) In the Presence of My Enemies by Gracia Burnham

22) Roads by Larry McMurtray

Fiction:

1) For One More Day by Mitch Albom

2) Night Road by Kristin Hannah

3) Riding Lessons by Sara Gruen

4) Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson

5)  Camp Nine by Vivienne Schiffer

6)   Wednesday Wars by Gary D Schmidt

7) Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling

8) Someday Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham

9) Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran

10) And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

11) Finding Daddy by Louise Plummer

When you look at the books you have read over the year, it shows a little bit of a journey you have been on.  Here are some things I discovered…

  • I still read way more non-fiction than fiction.
  • Most of the fiction books I read are the selected books from the Book Club I joined two years ago.  This is one of the reasons why I joined a Book Club–to hold me accountable to actually read some fiction.
  • The areas of interest in which I enjoy learning about are foster care, adoption, social justice, the 1970’s, the Vietnam War, psychology, cults, and travel.  I don’t know if any of these topics are related.
  • Through Painted Deserts is about a road trip to Central Oregon.  I read most it while camping in Central Oregon miles from where the stories took place.  I love it when you read books with a good setting while you are actually IN the setting.
  • I read quite a few books about foster care in early 2013.  At the time we had hoped to become foster parents in later 2013, but that has been put on hold.  I am grateful for all that I learned about foster care even if I can’t be a foster mom at this point in time.
  • My favorite time to study in history is the 1950’s – 1980’s.   I am fascinated by the cultural change between the 50’s and 60’s and how it shaped the 1970’s.
  • My favorite books read in 2013 were fiction!  I loved Night Road and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close.
  • It is going to take me years and years to get through the Harry Potter series.  I am not a true Harry Potter fan.  My friend (who is a big Harry Potter fan)  told me Book #4 was his least favorite but so far it’s my most favorite.  Again I’m probably not a true fan.
  • I watched the movie Without Limits which is about the legendary runner from the early 1970’s Steve Prefontaine.  He is from Coos Bay, Oregon and was a track runner for the U of O.  I had no idea who Prefontaine was or the history of Nike or that it all started less than an hour from where I live.  I watch “running” movies and documentaries the nights Rob is gone.  As he will often watch airplane movies when I am away.   So after watching the movie and saying over and over the next three days–“Wow that movie was so good and yet so sad,” I started reading more about Pre.  For my birthday I told Rob I want to go for a run on the Prefontaine Trail, see Pre’s rock at the site where he died, and see Hayward Field.  I’m a running geek and proud of it.

I am looking forward to more reading in 2014!

2 thoughts on “Books I Read in 2013

  1. Hey, I read one on your non-fiction list, Seven, and one on your fiction list, And the Mountains Echoed. Great books, both of them. Thanks for your list! And Hugs. Jan K

    • Thanks, Jan! I enjoyed both of those too. And the Mountains Echoed was such good writing–loved all the different characters and how their stories intertwined. Our Book Club girls are enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

